tonight you're mine completely   Leave a comment

tonight the light of love is in your eyes, my darling
but will you love me tomorrow?
– will you love me tomorrow (four seasons)

I have 10000000000000000000 mosquito bites….everywhere!

The morning of the last day of camp I accidentally thought to myself how cool it was that I hadn’t gotten bitten yet….and then I came home and they started popping up everywhere!

They’d better be just mosquito bites. >: ]

GAHHHH ITCHYYYY!!!!!

Ok…anyway…so I went to TN camp this weekend. Overall I’d say it was…pretty good.

Friday was a normal day. A. Phat made me do a bang reo at the bonfire, I had to go first. It was…alright. Lolz.

Then Saturday I was Truong Truc all day. I took a break before mass because…well because we were playing with water balloons and I got kinda really…really wet. But it was so fun!

Tro Choi Lon, the team I chaperoned came in 2nd. I helped Otouto’s team a little bit with the cooking contest and they got 1st. I only helped a little tho. Those kids are good cooks! Lolz. : )

Sunday was water games and that was decent. Got home and was so tiredddd.

Ok…so on Saturday while I was Truong Truc, I actually didn’t mind the kinds at all. It was the HT that really pissed me off. They just kept getting in my way! As the Truong Truc, what that basically means is that you’re in charge. Of keeping time, of giving directions, of keeping the kids’ spirits up, everything. Of course I had to take orders from A. Phong, and out of respect I listened to the other HT, but technically I was in charge. It was my first time and I’m not saying I was great at it, but half the time I screwed up because people kept giving me bad directions!

ARGHH!!!

Ok so for example…this is one of the parts that really pissed me off…as the cooking contest was ending A. Phong told me to tell the teams that they were to clean up their gas stoves and then bring them into the kitchen area and put them on the table in the middle. So I announced it to all the kids who were in the kitchen setting up as well as all the kids outside who were still finishing cooking. At one point A. Nguyen calls together the group leaders, even though they still had about 3 minutes left to cook/clean to tell them stuff. H.P. asks him what they were supposed to do with the pots and pans, and he says blah blah, then she asks him what they were supposed to do with the gas stoves, and he’s like O…well…just leave them outside…and I’m standing right there so I go, No, you were supposed to clean them up and bring them in here. And A. Nguyen goes…Well, they didn’t know. And I’m like, I announced it, many times, they should have known. And H.P. goes Well…no one did it so…(as in since no one did it, they shouldn’t be punished for it…) And A. Nguyen goes…Yea, it’s ok.

So I’m like…OK, and I just walk off. WTF? Like…WTF? A. Phong might’ve asked him to give directions to the team leaders about presenting their food to the judges of the cooking contest, but everything else they were supposed to take my orders. So why is it OK that no one cleaned up the stoves even though I had told them to? It was OK because H.P. said so??? How the fuck does that work?!

I hate having to work with and deal with the HT. There’s a difference between giving advice and undermining people’s authority. And all the HT were doing the second one. I don’t mind advice, obviously it was my first time being TT, so I need the advice, but I definitely don’t need the undermining of authority.

The girls in my cabin, bless their souls, had to go through my ranting like…all day long. Lolz. Sometimes I’m afraid of complaining about the HT to the girls because then they might not want to become HT…but I need them to become HT so we can overthrow this evil regime goshdammit!

Ok…anyway…screw it…A. Phong kept asking me if I was OK because obviously I kept getting pissed along the day…And I told him straight out that I was fine with the kids but that the HT were pissing me off. And he was comforting but…whatever. I told him after my shift was done on Saturday night that I didn’t mind being Truong Truc, but only if it’s about once a year.

Also, on Saturday some HT were visiting from Don Bosco. At one point I was lining up the kids to take pictures, and the HT were taking pictures while the kids were getting ready, and I hear someone say “Chi, sao Chi giu qua vay?” Which translates to “Why are you (is she) so mean?” And later I find out it was one of the visiting HT and I’m like fuck you! And later on I come in to the kitchen and A. Phong had to tell me something but he was across from two of the visiting HT (one of them being the rude one who called me mean) so I had to stand next to one of them and lean over. And when I got over there the guy nudged his friend and made a gesture up at me, like they were in the middle of talking about me or something. I just basically ignored them and kicked the chair into the guy’s leg when I was walking off so eff them.

So anyway, Saturday night I’m sleepin’ like a baby…and all of a sudden I feel wet drops. And I wake up kinda, in a haze and I ask…stupidly…Is it raining? Turns out it was the boys pranking back the girls. In the 15 minutes it took for me to fully process things, turns out the girls had gone to prank the guys by throwing anchovies into their cabins or whatever. The guys caught the girls and made them clean it up, but then came back to prank the girls by shooting water into the cabins and then leaving mamtommixedwithwater filled balloons on the porch. One of the girls said that the guys were gonna come back to pop the balloons and have them explode on us. IDK where she got that idea…but whatever.

So I look over at poor Hanna…and she’s trying her best to stay asleep, and the pranking girls refuse to go back to sleep even though it was 4inthemorning, so I’m like, eff it. I get up and Catherine and I go over to the boys’ cabin to have them clean up the mess. In the cabin I find just Patrick, Son, Be (: )) and someone I thought was Minh but turns out it was Binh. So Pat tells me that the girls didn’t completely clean up their mess and there was still anchovies and silly string left. That the guys cleaned up most of the silly string and a lot of the rest of the fish but there were still one or two here and there. So I had Catherine pick up the rest of the anchovies…one because the anchovies were her idea, she brought them and all, and two because she came with me as a representative for the girls. So she picks up the remaining one or two anchovies. The guys had cleaned up most of the silly string that Thuy left behind but there were still two or three pieces lying around. So they point them out and I ask Catherine to pick them up because like I said…even though Thuy used the silly string, Catherine was there as a rep for all the girls who were pranking. So Catherine picks up like…one of the silly string pieces…changes her mind and then, get this…refuses to pick up the rest. She says that Thuy was the one who used the silly string so Thuy had to come and pick them up and that she wasn’t going to do it. I was sorta just…like…shocked for a little bit…but I regained myself and said that if Thuy used the silly string as part of the prank then as a person who was also pranking Catherine was also partically responsible for the silly string. But Catherine keeps saying that they were saving the silly string on Minh and Be’s cabin, even though through Friday the girls had told me that ALL the boys were staying in the same cabin, so when Catherine said that she thought Minh and Be weren’t gonna be in that boys’ cabin, I grew kinda suspicious so I asked her to stop talking and let Pat explain. So anyway, somehow in all of this crap, Catherine lets out that Minh was staying in H.P.’s cabin, she had said this before we went to the guys’ cabin but I…like literally I was taken aback. Like…WHY in the GoshDam WORLD would she say that? What the hell was she tryin to do?? Like…Pat looked kinda surprised for about a second but he didn’t say anything and IDK if any of the other guys heard but, I was like….I said outloud that that wasn’t information that Catherine was allowed to discuss!

But OK anyway, the main point of that was I wish I hadn’t taken Catherine along because she just made it worse. So anyway, I had Pat and Be come back to the girls’ cabin with me. And along the way, to lighten up the mood I told Pat he had to wash my hair tomorrow. And he was like Why. And I said, cuz it smells like fish (I couldn’t actually smell it because my nose was stuffed, but the girls said that the “rainwater” had mam tom in it). And Pat goes…that was just water…there wasn’t anything in it. And of course, I didn’t know what to say. So we get back to the girls’ cabin and Pat and Be clean up the porch, and Brian pops out of the mini closet he was hiding in in the girls’ cabin and goes “I’m sorry guys” and I’m like “Haha Brian you’re not gonna be allowed back into the guys’ cabin tonight” and Brian goes “BUT I’M NEUTRAL!” It was funny. Anyway out of nowhere I see Binh and Son and I’m like…OMG wth and they go “We’re here to help.” Which I thought was sweet.

It also struck me that, Pat said that he and Be were the only ones pranking, which I can believe…and yet Binh and Son showed up to help clean up even though Catherine wouldn’t pick up like…two pieces of silly string for Thuy. Ok anyway….

As we were walking to the girls’ cabin Pat told me that they weren’t going to prank the girls at all but the girls started first, and I asked if he was gonna do anymore pranking and he said no. So as they were leaving after cleaning up the mess I went outside and told them that pranking is pranking. If you do it, you have to expect that you’ll be pranked back. So I told the guys, to appease them, that if they wanted to prank the girls on their way to the bathroom (I was mainly thinking of Catherine, I had a feeling Thuy and Terri and Tina weren’t leaving the cabin again that night, and I think most of the guys’ “anger” was against Catherine anyway) then that was fine, but Hanna, poor girl! didn’t do anything and didn’t deserve to be woken up and disturbed with the pranks. So they were like…OK. And then I said that I and Thuy will come by in the morning to pick up the silly string, but Pat said that there were just a piece or two left so there was no need, and then Binh said that if I sent Brian back with a bag of chips then it’d be OK, so I did and Thuy didn’t have to go over the next morning.

OMG that night was so hectic. I’m surprised I got up at all that morning. Lolz.

OK so overall it was a good camp. There wasn’t anything…overly crappy I guess…aside from me having to deal with the HT, but that’s normal. I noticed even more that the HT choose favorites, they’re lazy, the like, but that’s natural for them. Or everybody, I guess, to be fair. ::raise eyebrows::

O yea another thing…so apparently the HT take an annual trip to the beach. Last year A. Huy mentioned it to me but I couldn’t go. Then this year nothing was mentioned to me at all. Catherine Thao and Thien An keep saying I should go or that it’s not by “invite” but I mean, if the HT keep announcing it when I’m not there, I’m not going to invite myself. This isn’t me being petty but I mean come on, I hate ruining people’s fun and I especially hate being somewhere where you’re not wanted. So it’s not like I’m waiting for a special invite, but I’m also not going to go when I don’t know that they actually want me there.

Ok…so that was my TN rant. Lolz.

Chya ne!

Posted July 13, 2009 by .unpaused. in Life

Leave a Reply

