gio em ben ai, da yeu thuong ai   Leave a comment

yeu voi van chu khong that long – nguoi tinh doi gian

Yesterday after work I dropped by Barnes and Nobles.

DSC_0004DSC_0005
DSC_0006

My intent was to get a planner (which I ended up not getting), the GRE study books, and the Krauss book (after reading a quote from it off of Tumblr). The Kunderas were a last minute, impulse kinda buy.

Have you ever opened a book, and felt compelled by it? Like, it caused you to feel as if you would cry if you couldn’t just sit and read it? Well, that’s what Kunderas do to me. Usually before I buy a book I’ll open it up and read a page or so to see if I can stand the writing style and stuff, not enough to get into the plot obviously, just to get through the basics. Well, with Kunderas, I can’t read more than a few lines, because if I were to read any more, I’d just plop my arse right in the bookstore and just read and read for hours, until I finished the book, until security kicked me out, who knows. And in a book store with a selection of Kunderas, if no one attempted to kick me out, I’d just read book after book after book until I finished them all. Only with Kunderas though. I’ve always wanted a space to my own, in my room, on the balcony, wherever, where I could just sit and snuggle with a nice drink and a book. It’s something I want but it’s no major deal. Well, after opening up Laughable Loves and reading a few lines, my heart practically tore at the fact that life was so hectic that I couldn’t find time to snuggle somewhere and read my book.

The books are stashed next to my luggage bags. I’m forcing myself not to start reading them until I get on the plane. I think on the short one…the one from Dulles to LAX, I’ll just watch a movie or something. Maybe I’ll do some studying, some Krauss. Because I know that if I start a Kundera and don’t finish it by the time I get to LAX, I probably won’t be able to leave the plane and find the next gate. Either because I wouldn’t be able to will my body to move, or because I will be walking around with my head in the book and getting my arse lost.

It might seem silly, but you would get it if you read a Kundera. It’s not for the faint of heart though. I mean, it’s not scary or anything like that, but it’s…something else, and it takes a certain person to get it truly, without going crazy. I’m not exactly that kind of person. I’m sure that I don’t even get it, not the way it wants to be got, but….alright, let’s just put it this way. The first Kundera I read was The Unbearable Lightness of Being. It’s a book about “a young woman in love with a man torn between his love for her and his incorrigible womanizing; one of his mistresses and her humbly faithful lover.” If that doesn’t instantly strike you, you might want to take some time before you get into it. As I said, it takes a person to read Kundera, get into it, without losing their mind and their will to live. I lost my mind a little and my will to live detached for a bit, yet at the same time I feel compelled to continue getting lost in the worlds he writes up.

Anyway, I was kind of surprised, then not, that the Kunderas would affect me like that. Not just the first one I picked up. Because the first one I picked up pulled me so, I ended up picking up more. I would’ve picked them all up had it not been that my wallet began to cry. Poor thing.

Well, I’m anxious. I really want to start reading the books, but there’s so much to do before I leave, so I can’t. As soon as I’m on that flight from LAX to Korea though, out comes the books.

—-

I’m kind of sad that my brother doesn’t share my love of reading. I mean, I don’t read everything, but he doesn’t ready anything. I wish I had held off on having him read Unbearable. I figure he’ll enjoy Kundera more once he’s a little older.

——-

You know, I used to be able to read a lot. A lot, a lot. But now not anymore. I blame it on Unbearble and Kundera. Freakin book, freakin awesome author gave me a whole new requirement for literature. No longer can I read the “Peony in Love”s or the “The Glassblower of Murano”s of the literary world. I’m sure that maybe in the future when I have more time, ha…., I might be able to get back into those kinds of books, but not now. Now, time is too short, if I am to read, it has to be Kundera. Is this love? I think so!

—-

Remember my mini rant about freaking out whenever I can’t find my shoes where I left them under my desk? I figured it out…I like kicking stuff.

5 more days.

Chya!

Posted March 19, 2010 by .unpaused. in Life, Picture-ed

Leave a Reply

