Kyoto Trips Thus Far Continued   2 comments

My second trip to Kyoto was a bit more relaxing. It had its….Argh…moments, but overall I liked the trip better than the first time. I went with a smaller group of people and we took our time, and even though we were taking our time, we managed to get to three places, and finished pretty early.

The first place we went to was Nijo Castle. We weren’t allowed to take photographs inside the actual Castle building, so all the pics are from outside.

DSC_0023DSC_0029DSC_0030DSC_0032DSC_0041DSC_0043DSC_0049DSC_0054DSC_0059

The Castle itself was pretty awesome. It had a legit Nightingale Floor and everything! (A Nightingale Floor is basically a floor made of wood that squeaks with every step, alerting the Shogun and his men of possible assassins. How to know if you’re a boss ninja/assassin? Walking on the Floor without make it squeak. Or flying and taking the Floor factor out complete <—A bit of interesting-ness for you non-nerds out there. Don’t ask me how I know this stuff. No, it was not told to us at the castle. I knew way beforehand.) My friends and I tried to sneak around on the Floor to see if we could take even one step without provoking it but, alas, it always sang. The guards seemed to find us amusing though.

The art in the Castle was also really amazing. So beautiful. It’s a shame that I couldn’t take any pictures, but the signs said something about preserving the art and stuff so, ah well. I got a buncha postcards though that depicted some of the art, but they were all sent off. Lolz.

After Nijo Castle we headed to the Heian Shrine. We got kinda lost and so, took something of a detour.

DSC_0063–Enjoying the River–DSC_0064–He thought I couldn’t see him sneaking up on me or something??–DSC_0069–Pooh to trying to push people off bridges!–DSC_0078–Girls Unite!–DSC_0079
We sidetracked into an alley shop….And this is what boys do while girls shop:
DSC_0083Yup.

So after the shop we realized we were going the wrong way and turned around.

DSC_0118–Was on a wall of a building in the street. Cool, HUH?!–

Happened upon a little shrine in the midst of tall buildings.

DSC_0092DSC_0089

After climbing up a slight hill, we finally made it to the Heian Shrine.
DSC_0122DSC_0135DSC_0138DSC_0134DSC_0141(This Photo courtesy of S.S.)DSC_0150(This Photo courtesy of S.S.)

I spent the entire time at the Shrine just kinda sitting outside. It was soooooooo nice. For some reason I loved the feeling of the Shrine. So S.S. took my camera but apparently they didn’t allow pictures of inside the main buildings either so boo.

After the Shrine we decided to take a taxi to Kiyomizu Temple. The taxi fare split between the 4 of us was only a little more than if we’d taken the bus.

DSC_0170

Kiyomizu Temple:
DSC_0172DSC_0177DSC_0178DSC_0182DSC_0185DSC_0186DSC_0187DSC_0199–Cool! A wish thingy written in Thai. I saw some English ones later too.–
DSC_0211DSC_0218–Daiki after a long day…–
DSC_0222DSC_0224DSC_0225DSC_0227(This Photo Courtesy of S.S.)
DSC_0228DSC_0229DSC_0230DSC_0231DSC_0232DSC_0233DSC_0234DSC_0235DSC_0236DSC_0242

I really, really liked Kiyomizu Temple. The place was packed with tourists and students, but the walk through the whole place was great. Wonderful views, serene even with all the chatter.

After Kiyomizu we took the train to Gion Corner. It was still wayyyy early in the day so nothing cool was happening.

DSC_0243DSC_0244DSC_0248DSC_0245DSC_0251DSC_0250

And since nothing was happening, we just stopped by this bar place and had dinner. My dinner was delicious! I had some mussels, not enough, I might add, and a seafood pasta. The place seemed kind of upscale and we totally did not fit in. Daiki was literally falling alseep at the table, and Sharlen thought it appropriate to stick a breadstick in his mouth…or was it his nose..?…and he blew up when he woke. I didn’t take any pictures, I was way too tired and too lazy to take out my huge camera. Can you tell I’m trying to make an argument for myself to buy the goshdamn PointandShoot? Haha. What did I learn from the dinner? You can dress them up, but you can’t take them out. This group is appropriate only for the ramen shops. Is that mean? Yes, I don’t care.

P.S. Sorry for some of the huge pictures. It’s too time consuming and difficult to go back and take the medium size of those photos and then figure them back in. I’ll try to be more careful next time.

Posted June 2, 2010 by .unpaused. in Life, Picture-ed

2 responses to “Kyoto Trips Thus Far Continued

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMGSSHHH, YOU LUCKY ONE!
    Japan is such a beautiful country! No matter what happens to me, I must go there before I die🙂

    • Yes, you must. It truly is a wonderful place. A nice mix of traditional and modern, I love it. My favorite scenes are those of these tiny little shrines wedged in-between two huge industrial buildings. Lolz.

Leave a Reply

