he sang   Leave a comment

phuong tuoi tham mau
-la xanh mua he

A few weeks ago a friend and I made another trip out to Kyoto. We went to Byoudo-in, which I had really been insistent about, and some other places that I can’t name…because I’ve forgotten. Byoudo-in turned out to be less cool than I thought it would be, but it was still very, very pretty.

DSC_0005–On the way there.–

DSC_0015
DSC_0021
DSC_0016

DSC_0027DSC_0029

DSC_0033

As I said, very scenic, very beautiful.

After Byoudo-in we headed to our next destination. On the way there we happened upon this cute little shop that sold really adorable things for relatively cheap, so I bought a bunch. HA! ‘Tis me. This guy owned the place. He ‘checked out’ with an abacus! How can you not buy from a man who uses an abacus?!

DSC_0039

The next place we went to. We went there specifically because our teacher in Art and Society said that there were rock gardens here designed by Shigemori. So, why not? We paid and went to one part, then found out as we were leaving that the gardens by Shigemori were actually in another part of the place, so we thought, might as well we’re already here, and ended up paying to go to the other part. Glad we did. I never thought rock gardens were so interesting!

DSC_0041
DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0059

DSC_0077

DSC_0085DSC_0088

DSC_0086

DSC_0089

DSC_0090

DSC_0092

DSC_0098

Lastly, we went to the Tori gates place. Idk what it’s really called. Basically families pay to put up these tori gates for good luck, or something. We didn’t walk the whole way up the mountain. I’m not much of a hiker, HA!

DSC_0116

DSC_0118

DSC_0130

DSC_0131

DSC_0129

DSC_0132

Walking under all the Tori gates also made me feel a little claustrophobic but that’s just cuz I’m a wimp.

This was probably the last time I make an all day trip out to Kyoto. The place has a lot of things to see, but after a few of the big sites, everything gets a little repetitive.

I’ve enjoyed, pretty much, each time I’ve been out to Kyoto though. It was worth the 2 hour train trip each way and the approximately $25 in train fare. Haha.

Posted June 28, 2010 by .unpaused. in Life, Picture-ed

Leave a Reply

